Douglas Rochestown Educate Together National School implements the Department of Education and Skills’ Revised Primary School Curriculum (1999). The curriculum outlines the contents of children’s learning – the what and how of children’s learning – for children’s first eight years in school, from junior infants to sixth class.

The curriculum aims to:

  • develop each child’s potential to the full
  • encourage a love of learning
  • help children develop skills they will use all their lives.

The curriculum is presented in seven areas, some of which are further subdivided into subjects. These are:

  1. Language: Gaeilge (Irish) and English
  2. Mathematics
  3. Social, environmental and scientific education (SESE): history, geography and science
  4. Arts education: visual arts, music and drama
  5. Physical education (PE)
  6. Social, personal and health education (SPHE)
  7. Religious or ethical education is the responsibility of the different school patron bodies. At Douglas Rochestown Educate Together NS we teach the Learn Together programme.

Please visit the curriculum online at the National Council for Curriculum and Assessment (NCCA)’s website for further information.

Some useful ideas to improve children’s literacy and numeracy can be found at Help My Kid Learn.